I’m a big sucker for movies and I spend the most of my time watching them.

My subject for my first formal post is Independent film, or you could call it Indie film.

That is a film that is produced outside the major film business in Hollywood.

They usually don’t get the economic contribution the big studios get.

For some reason they appeal more to me than all the big Hollywood movies. I don’t know why, but those movies seem to have more “feeling” and depth than the big movies.

Maybe that’s because they don’t get the economic contribution and that they’re not able to film in the big studios. Because of that they might work harder for a movie and they often have actors/actresses you never seen or heard of before which makes it more "real”.

I do like the Hollywood movies too; they just don’t speak to me in the same way like the indie films.

Almost no indie film have the chance to be shown in the movie theatres; instead they’re shown in Film Festivals. Nowadays there is a lot of different Film Festivals all over the world.

One of them is Sundance Film Festival which is the largest cinema festival in the United States. Movies such as Saw, Napoleon Dynamite and the Blair Witch Project have been shown at the Sundance Festival.

 

One of the first independent films I saw was Keith, and it has become one of my favourite movies.

Keith was first shown at the Palm Beach International Film Festival in April 11, 2008.




Kommentarer
Postat av: 10773n

Nice written! I agree about that indie movies are awesome! Both Saw, Napoleon Dynamite and the Blair Witch Project are really good movies! They are not so overblown as the most hollywood movies. Less is more.

2010-02-16 @ 11:05:29
URL: http://seabearsnowbeard.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0